Maine Board of Osteopathic Licensure

142 SHS, 161 Capitol Street Augusta, ME 04333-0142 Phone: (207) 287-2480/Fax: (207) 536-5811

Board Meeting Minutes September 12, 2024 9:30 AM to 11:50 AM

Members Present: Christine Munroe, Board Chair; John Brewer, DO, Board Secretary; Melissa Michaud, PA-C; Gust Stringos, DO; Paul Vinsel, DO; Peter Michaud, JD, RN, Public Member; Brian Gillis, DO; Dennis Smith, Public Member. Members Absent: Lisa Ryan, DO Others Present: Rachel MacArthur, Executive Secretary; Faith McLaughlin, Consumer Assistance Specialist; Lisa Wilson, Esq., Asst Attorney General and Det. Seth Blodgett, Office of the Attorney General

Complaint and investigative reviews are held in Public Session without the use of any names unless otherwise noted.

1. COMPLAINTS/INVESTIGATIONS/COMPLIANCE

COMPLAINTS

A. 2023-31 Dr. Christine Munroe, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Dr. Stringos Seconded by: Dr. Brewer

Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

B. 2023-35 Dr. Brian Gillis, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Ms. Michaud Seconded by: Dr. Stringos

Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

C. 2023-53 Dr. John Brewer, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Dr. Vinsel Seconded by: Mr. Michaud

Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

D. 2024-15 Dr. Paul Vinsel, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Dr. Brewer Seconded by: Mr. Smith

Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

E. 2024-18 Dr. Lisa Ryan, Case Reporter

Dennis Smith gave an overview of the complaint details, as Dr. Ryan was absent.

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Provide licensee and patient with the opportunity for an informal

conference in front of the Board.

Made by: Dr. Vinsel Seconded by: Mr. Michaud Voted: Passed unanimously; Mr. Smith did not vote.

F. 2024-22 Dr. Gust Stringos, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Dr. Munroe Seconded by: Ms. Michaud Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

G. 2024-26 Dr. Paul Vinsel, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Dismiss, as it does not rise to the level of Board action.

Made by: Ms. Michaud Seconded by: Dr. Stringos Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

COMPLIANCE

H. 2022-9 Mr. Peter Michaud, Case Reporter

An update to the licensee's continued monitoring was provided to the Board.

I. 2024-8 Mr. Peter Michaud, Case Reporter

An update to the licensee's continued monitoring was provided to the Board.

J. 2023-44 Dr. Christine Munroe, Case Reporter

AAG Wilson provided an explanation that a new evaluator option was provided to handle the monitoring required by the Consent Agreement.

MOTION: Accept the new evaluator to monitor the licensee per the Consent

Agreement.

Made by: Mr. Michaud Seconded by: Dr. Brewer Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

K. 2023-9 Dr. John Brewer, Case Reporter

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Terminate the Consent Agreement based on the information provided by

the state of original complaint.

Made by: Mr. Smith Seconded by: Dr. Stringos Voted: Passed unanimously; Case Reporter did not vote.

2. MINUTES & REVENUE/EXPENSE REPORTS

A. Motion made by Dr. Munroe to accept the August meeting minutes as written. Ms. Michaud seconded, motion passed unanimously; Dr. Vinsel abstained.

3. OTHER BUSINESS

A. Vice Chair Nominations

MOTION: Nomination of Dr. Lisa Ryan as Vice-Chair of the Board of Osteopathic

Licensure.

Made by: Dr. Munroe Seconded by: Ms. Michaud

Voted: Passed unanimously

B. Rule Changes Re: Licensing Fees

AAG Wilson provided a synopsis of the process of updating the Board's new license fees. As fees are listed in a policy statement, AAG Wilson's office advises that fee changes should be a simple rule change, listing updated fees.

MOTION: Draft a rule for the updated license fees.

Made by: Mr. Smith Seconded by: Dr. Vinsel

Voted: Passed unanimously.

4. LICENSURE MATTERS

A. Review of August Permanent Licensure Applications

Sarah Clayton Christine Kerr

Darius Graeff Kimberly McKean Katherine Saunders Marlene Hassenfratz Colby Nixon Masina Wright David Hursh David Rabinovich Michael Yu

MOTION: Following prior review of the permanent licensure application submitted,

the Board voted to approve, with the exceptions to follow.

Made by: Mr. Smith Seconded by: Dr. Stringos

Voted: Passed unanimously.

Clayton, Sarah

MOTION: After further discussion, application was determined to be acceptable.

Made by: Mr. Michaud Seconded by: Dr. Munroe

Voted: Passed unanimously.

Yu, Michael

MOTION: After further discussion, application was determined to be acceptable.

Made by: Dr. Vinsel Seconded by: Dr. Brewer

Voted: Passed unanimously.

Hassenfratz, Marlene

MOTION: After further discussion, motion was made to table application for further

information from the licensee.

Made by: Mr. Michaud Seconded by: Dr. Munroe

Voted: Passed unanimously.

B. Patricia Vigder - Tabled license application update

Following review and discussion, Board members took the following action:

MOTION: Offer the option of an informal conference to discuss concerns regarding

the licensee's application.

Made by: Ms. Michaud Seconded by: Mr. Smith

Voted: Passed unanimously.

5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn was brought at 11:50 AM.

MOTION: Made by Dr. Gillis

Seconded by Dr. Stringos Voted: Passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Rachel Mac Arthur

Rachel MacArthur, Executive Secretary